The penalties that a driver could face for a DUI in Orlando or Seminole County, Florida, if convicted may vary depending upon a number of different factors. These factors often include the blood alcohol level of the driver, whether a minor was in the vehicle, whether the driver was involved in a crash, and most importantly does the driver have any prior DUI convictions. Any or all of this will affect the potential penalties that a driver may face.
Contact an Orlando and Seminole County DUI attorney at The Law Office of Corey I. Cohen today if you are interested in finding out more about your specific charges and what potential penalties you could face and what defenses to the charges you may have.
As a former public defender and state prosecutor who has defended and prosecuted hundreds of drunk driving cases, Orlando DUI defense lawyer Corey Cohen has the experience and training in DUI cases necessary to give you a competitive advantage.
Penalties for a First DUI Offense in Orange County and Seminole County
Following are the potential penalties that a driver may face for a first DUI conviction in Orlando and Seminole County, Florida: Please note that every case is different and the penalties will vary based on the facts of your individual case.
- Up to a 12-month driver's license suspension
- Up to six months in county jail, 12 months in jail if there was any property damage.
- Fines and court fees of up to $1,000
- Up to 12 months probation
- 50 hours of community service
- 10-day vehicle impoundment
- DUI school
- Victim awareness panel
- Crash project (only in Seminole County)
Penalties will increase dramatically for a second conviction within five years or third conviction within 10 years and a fourth conviction. A second conviction within five years of your first carries with it a mandatory 10 days in jail and a maximum of nine months in jail; there is also a five-year suspension of your driver's license. A third conviction may actually be charged as a felony, punishable by up to five years in state prison and a 10-year driver's license suspension.
For a fourth DUI conviction there is the possibility of five years in state prison and a lifetime driver's license suspension with no possibility for a hardship license ever. This means you can never legally drive again in Florida.
Contact Our Drunk Driving Defense Attorney
For immediate help with your DUI case call The Law Office of Corey I. Cohen, at 407-246-0066 or you may email the attorney personally for information about your case.
The initial consultation is free so before you go to court call The Law Office of Corey I. Cohen.