In Florida, an aggravated assault is an assault with a deadly weapon or an assault undertaken with the intent of committing a felony. What many individuals don't know is that the deadly weapon isn't always necessarily a firearm. Law enforcement officers and prosecutors are aggressive in their pursuit of criminals, and it is common for them to consider knives, hammers, steel-toed boots, bleach, poison and other materials as lethal, and thereby elevate the charge from what would be a simple assault.
The consequences can be severe. Third-degree aggravated assault (the lowest-level crime) carry penalties of up to five years in prison and thousands of dollars in fines. First- and second-degree aggravated assault offenses can land convicts in prison for decades. Punishments are further escalated if the victim was a police officer or other public official.
What We Do
We can help. At The Law Office of Corey I. Cohen, our attorneys have more than three decades of combined experience in the criminal justice system. We have served as state prosecutors, and have a thorough understanding of how the state approaches aggravated assault matters. This puts us in a unique position to build the strongest possible defense for our clients.
While the penalties for aggravated assault are severe, we are skilled in reducing our clients' punishments. In many cases, we have been able to help our clients avoid prison, serving probation instead. At other times, we have been able to have the charges entirely dismissed.
The results we achieve are predicated on the knowledge we have gained. We have argued more than 200 cases before juries, and have learned to prepare endlessly for trial. If the arresting officer or prosecuting attorney has made a mistake at any juncture, we will find it and leverage it to your advantage.
What If I'm Facing Firearm Allegations?
When there is a firearm involved in an aggravated assault, the Florida courts are compelled to mete out mandatory minimum punishments, including:
- Possession of a firearm during assault - three years
- Possession of a semi-automatic firearm or machine gun during assault - 15 years
- Discharge of a firearm or destructive device during assault - 20 years
- When a weapon's discharge results in an individual's death - 25 years
Under state law, these minimum sentences cannot be deferred or suspended.
Nevertheless, you still have options. Drawing on our familiarity with the court system and the legal processes that underpin it, we can investigate every aspect of the charges against you. If you have been wrongfully charged or illegally arrested - if your civil rights have been violated in any way - we can seek a reduction of dismissal of charges. Likewise, we are skilled in negotiating with opposing counsel to obtain favorable outcomes for the individuals we represent.
Don't Leave Your Future To Chance
The Law Office of Corey I. Cohen has earned a reputation for effectiveness at trial. When you retain us, you are engaging an entire team that will be committed entirely to your defense.
To learn more, reach out to our office. You can call us at 888-390-8937 or contact us online. Initial consultations are always free, so we can assess your case before you are obliged to pay.