The Law Office of Corey I. Cohen
Free Consultation Phone Answered 24/7
407-246-0066 or 888-390-8937
Hablamos EspaƱol

DUI and New Hardship License Rules

As of July 1, 2013 the Florida Legislators enacted new rules the govern DUI hardship licenses. This new law actually makes it a lot easier to get a hardship license after being arrested for a first time DUI. Within the first 10 days after arrest you have to sign up for DUI school through the Florida Safety Counsel and bring that proof to the DHSMV and request a waiver of the formal review which means you are not challenging the suspension. If you follow these steps then the DHSMV will issue you a hardship license on the stop for the entire term of your suspension which would be 6 months if you blow .08 or higher or 12 months if you refuse the breath test.

This is a great option for people who cannot be without a license for 30-90 days which was the old rule. Keep in mind you can still request a hearing to challenge the suspension but if you lose then you will have to wait 30 days with no driving before you can get a hardship if you took a breath test or 90 days if you refused.

The DHSMV hearings are difficult to win because they are not conducted in front of a judge or an attorney, they are held by DHSMV employees who look at very limited issues when decided to keep the suspension or not.

If you have any questions about the new laws call the Law Office of Corey Cohen to speak with an experienced DUI attorney.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Get Legal Help Now

Contact our firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

The Law Office of Corey I. Cohen
605 East Robinson Street, Suite 330
Orlando, FL 32801

Orlando Law Office Map