Why men are more likely to drink and drive than women in Florida
Although more men in the U.S. drink and drive than women, the number of females receiving DUIs in the country is on the rise.
While both men and women drink and drive in Florida, men are more likely to do so. According to a 2011 report by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, men are approximately four times more likely to drink and drive than women. The CDC states that this is due to two primary reasons. First, men drive more often than women. Second, men are more likely to participate in risk-taking behaviors in many aspects of their life, including when they are behind the wheel of a vehicle.
Female DUI arrests are on the rise
Although men are more likely to drive intoxicated, the number of women receiving DUIs in the U.S. is on the rise. According to the Chicago Tribune, the number of DUIs given to women in the 1980s accounted for approximately 10 percent of the total number of DUIs in the country. As of 2011, statistics reveal that females accounted for nearly a quarter of the number of all DUI arrests during that year.
There are many suspected reasons why the number of female DUI arrests has risen over the past three decades. For example, according to Time, the number of female drivers in the U.S. now outnumbers the number of male drivers in the country by 2 million, making it more likely that a woman will be pulled over and arrested for driving intoxicated than in the past. Additionally, researchers suggest that women often drink in response to anxiety or to deal with the demands of their job.
The penalties remain the same
Regardless of whether an intoxicated driver is male or female, the DUI penalties remain the same. In Florida, according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, the severity of the penalties inflicted on a driver depends on the number of DUI arrests on their record. For example, a driver who is arrested for intoxicated driving for the first time may face the following consequences:
- The requirement to pay a fine that is no less $500 and no more than $1,000.
- A prison sentence of no more than six months.
- License revocation for a minimum of 180 days up to a maximum of one year.
In comparison, a driver who is arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol for the second time may be required to pay a fine of no less than $1,000 and no more than $2,000, spend up to nine months in prison and facing having their license revoked for five years if their first DUI arrest happened within the past five years. Due to the severity of these penalties, drivers who are facing charges for drinking and driving should consult with an attorney who can provide legal guidance at this time.
Keywords: DUI, drunk driving, arrest, charges