Drivers License Suspension and Revocation. If you are caught driving with a suspended license you could be facing arrest and criminal prosecution. There are two different driving with a suspended license charges with knowledge and without. If it is without knowledge then you will get a ticket that will result in points on your driving record.
When you don't keep track of how many points you have on your driver's license, you might be shocked to learn that you are driving with a suspended license. Those minor traffic violations can really add up. In Florida, thousands and thousands of drivers, year in and year out, have their license suspended/revoked because they are considered habitual traffic offenders. What happens when you get pulled over by the police while driving with a suspended license? It's a criminal offense to drive with a suspended or revoked license. No way around that.
It's one of the most nerve-wracking life experiences. Seeing a police car pull up behind you, flashing their lights, blasting the siren. Even if you know you've done nothing illegal, you still feel like a criminal.
Driving with a suspended license is a dangerous risk in Orlando, Florida if stopped you can be arrested and have to go to court and face a Judge. This charge is an enhanceable offense which means a first offense is punishable by up to 60 days in jail, a second offense is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a 3rd and subsequent offense is a felony punishable by up to 5 years in state prison.
As a Criminal Law attorney we are always researching new laws that take effect every legislative session and an interesting one that has been talked about for years finally took effect this year. Texting while driving is now a traffic offense effective October 1, 2013. If you are stopped and the cop has probable cause that you were texting while operating the motor vehicle you will receive a civil penalty. The more you get stopped for this infraction the higher the penalty is.
As a former Seminole County Prosecutor I know firsthand how serious the courts take Driving While License Suspended or Revoked charges. In Seminole County many of these cases can result in jail time, probation and the loss of your driving privileges for up to 5 years.
Police will be out there looking for DUI cases. Do not drink and drive this holiday unless you want to end up behind bars.At the Law Office of Corey Cohen we are closed for the 4th of July so that our staff can enjoy time with family and friends. While the office is closed you can still call our office to speak to an attorney anytime on the 4th of July. Many of you will go to parties or a place where alcohol is served. If you are stopped by a police officer for a DUI and you feel like you will fail the field sobriety exercises tell them that you will not participate in any tests or exercises and you want to speak to an attorney right away. If you come across law enforcement this holiday call me at 407-246-0066 and I will be happy to discuss your various legal options.
If you get three (3) Driving While License Suspended or Revoked charges within a five (5) year time period you could become classified as a habitual traffic offender and lose your license for five (5) years. This can turn into a serious situation because you could be charged with a felony for this and you cannot get a hardship license from the DHSMV for at least one year.