It should come as no surprise now when he hear about school employees being arrested for inappropriate behavior with a student. But we should also always keep an open mind about the alleged actions of a school worker.
Such is the case with a (now) former employee of the Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind. She has been charged with lewd or lascivious molestation charges. She was arrested following a complaint from anonymous source. She is accused of kissing a 15 year-old on the lips back in early June, according to the charging affidavit by the at the St. Augustine school's police department. Now, the State Attorney's Office and the Department of Children and Families are investigating this tricky situation. The 26 year-old woman has been released on $50,000 bail and is scheduled for an arraignment next month.
If you have been charged with lewd or lascivious molestation in the state of Florida, the punishment for this crime is rather strict. Lewd or Lascivious Molestation by a person 18 years of age or older on a child older than 12 years of age, but younger than 16, is classified as a Second Degree Felony. It carries up to 15 years in prison, as well as up to 15 years of probation. Not to mention up to $10,000 in fines.
In this particular case, the woman's attorney will have their work cut out for them since the victim is under 21 years-old and handicapped. It doesn't look good for their defense. However, there is a chance that this could be a just a huge misunderstanding. Was the kiss harmless? Who saw her do it? Did the accuser have a vendetta against her?
Her defense lawyer will need to thoroughly investigate her case and argue for reduced charges based on mitigating factors. For all we know, this is her first time ever being in trouble with the law.