Despite what you may think or hear, it's not very easy to carry a gun legally in the state of Florida. For example, if you have history of stalking or domestic abuse, it is unlikely that you will be permitted to carry a gun. While the state of FL respects and even embraces "open carry", if you illegally obtain and carry a firearm you will suffer some serious legal consequences.
Firearms charges under Florida's criminal laws can carry harsh penalties if you are found guilty. Someone who carries an unlicensed concealed firearm will be charged with a 3rd Degree Felony. That felony carries a maximum penalty of 5 years in jail and a $5,000 fine. This is not to be confused with a "concealed weapon" charge. Any individual who carries a concealed weapon will be charged with a 1st Degree Misdemeanor. That 1st degree misdemeanor carries a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine.
It goes to show you that weapons charges, in general, can be tricky for you and your defense attorney. Some of the more common defenses in court involve the possibility of a lapsed firearm's license, or arguing whether the alleged item can be legally defined as a "weapon", or the chance that the weapon was planted by someone else. It's important to remember that if you are accused of any type of weapons charge, hire an experienced criminal defense attorney who will fight for your civil rights. There are over 7 million gun owners in Florida. Know your rights.