When you receive your first-ever driving under the influence charge in Florida, you are going to have a lot of questions. Some of the most intrinsic to carrying on your daily routine revolve around what will happen to your license. This is a major concern, as public transit and ride-sharing may only be tolerable for a short period of time before greater changes may become necessary in order to make your situation work.
When you are convicted of your first DUI, you will usually receive somewhere between a maximum of one year's time with your license revoked to a minimum of 180 days. If someone was injured as a result of your DUI, your revocation period will have a minimum length of three years. However, during the revocation period, if you apply for a temporary hardship license within your county of residence, you may be able to drive. This is typically granted for those who can demonstrate the need to drive to retain employment. If you were required to complete any DUI school or treatment, you must do that before being fully considered for a hardship.
When you apply for a hardship license you also will be required to pay various fees, often including license fees, revocation statement fees. and an administrative fee, as well as complete an examination.You will also have to prove that you have the required minimum amount of insurance. For current crimes that have happened within the last several years, the applicant must show liability insurance covering bodily injury of at least $100,000 per individual, $300,000 for each occurrence and a minimum of $50,000 of coverage for property damage.
When you have been convicted of an alcohol-related driving charge, you lose your license. For most of us, our ability to drive is not a luxury but a necessity to our livelihood. By contacting a DUI attorney, you may have a better chance of reinstating regulated driving privileges and reducing the chance of error, oversight and missed deadlines per Florida's state laws and requirements.