Many people in Florida have concealed weapons permits and can legally carry a firearm in public but at times this could be a crime and you could be arrested if you are in the wrong location. Even if you possess a valid concealed weapons permit it is still illegal in the state of Florida to carry a firearm at the airport. For the most part you cannot be restricted or told where you can and cannot carry a firearm, however there are exceptions which include:
1. Any place of nuisance as defined in s. 823.05;
2. Any police, sheriff, or highway patrol station;
3. Any detention facility, prison, or jail;
4. Any courthouse;
5. Any courtroom, except that nothing in this section would preclude a judge from carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon in his or her courtroom;
6. Any polling place;
7. Any meeting of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special district;
8. Any meeting of the Legislature or a committee thereof;
9. Any school, college, or professional athletic event not related to firearms;
10. Any elementary or secondary school facility or administration building;
11. Any career center;
12. Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to such purpose;
13. Any college or university facility unless the licensee is a registered student, employee, or faculty member of such college or university and the weapon is a stun gun or nonlethal electric weapon or device designed solely for defensive purposes and the weapon does not fire a dart or projectile;
14. The inside of the passenger terminal and sterile area of any airport, provided that no person shall be prohibited from carrying any legal firearm into the terminal, which firearm is encased for shipment for purposes of checking such firearm as baggage to be lawfully transported on any aircraft; or
15. Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law.
Any person who knowingly and willfully violates any provision of this subsection commits a misdemeanor of the second degree which is a criminal charge and would result in a criminal conviction on your record, up to 60 days in jail and or 6 months probation and a fine of $500.00.
If you find yourself arrested for any crime call the Law Office of Corey Cohen for a free and confidential consultation.