Open Carry of weapons and possession of concealed weapons is a big deal in the news lately with different states having different laws on this topic. However in Florida you cannot be possession of a concealed weapon without a permit.
The most common case would be a concealed firearm where you are required to have a valid concealed weapons permit to carry on you or anywhere that is concealed and this includes in your car. If you are going to carry in your car the gun must be in the glove compartment or other area where it is not within your immediate reach.
If you are arrested in the Central Florida area for a charge of possession of a concealed weapon that is a first degree misdemeanor which is punishable by up to
1. 1 year in the county jail
2. 12 months of supervised probation, and or
3 a fine of not more than $1,000
if you get caught with carrying a concealed firearm then that is a third degree felony which is punishable by up to
1. 5 years in state prison
2. 5 years of supervised probation and or
3. a fine of not more than $5,000.00
You can also lose your civil rights as a convicted felon and your ability to possess a firearm for the rest of your life.
If you are a convicted felon and you are caught with a firearm that is a second degree felony which is punishable by up to 15 years in the state prison.