Florida and other states have general laws that govern what citizens can and cannot do to keep communities running safely and calmly. When people act in a way that disturbs the community, it’s often referred to as disorderly conduct. With disorderly conduct charges being the most common in jurisdictions throughout the nation, it’s only natural to wonder what this type of charge will cost you if you’re convicted of it.
The price of disorderly conduct
When you’re charged with disorderly conduct, it’s considered a misdemeanor offense. In the state of Florida, disorderly conduct falls into the second-degree misdemeanor category. This can result in a $500 fine and up to 60 days in jail or six months of probation.
In other states, the fines range anywhere from as low as $25 to as high as $1,000. Most laws will permit a judge to include probation or jail sentencing if he or she so chooses. However, first-time offenders are unlikely to experience jail or probation when charged with disorderly conduct.
Types of disorderly conduct
As you’ve likely learned by now, disorderly conduct is a very general term that can be used to describe all different types of activities. Some of the most common include fighting, disruptive protesting, disturbing an assembly, and public misconduct. In cases where a person is interacting with an officer, disorderly conduct may be charged in the event that the person threatens or uses any physical contact with the officer.
Disorderly conduct is a very common misdemeanor that encompasses many different types of situations. If you’ve been charged with this misdemeanor, you can expect to pay a hefty fine. Talking with a lawyer in Florida can assist you in learning about the maximum fine that you may endure from the charge and can allow you to better prepare for handling it.