Brand

FREE CONSULTATION Phone Answered 24/7

HABLAMOS ESPAÑOL
МЫ ГОВОРИМ ПО-РУССКИ

Our office remains open, and in response to COVID-19 we have expanded our options for remote consultations and virtual meetings. Please contact our office to discuss what meeting option best fits your situation. Call 407-246-0066.

Blog

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Law
  4.  » What are the DUI penalties in Florida?

What are the DUI penalties in Florida?

No one ever plans on drinking and driving, but it is an unfortunately common occurrence. Along with a risk of accident, driving under the influence (DUI) can also get you in trouble legally.

According to Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, fines and jail time depending on the number of convictions. Here is a breakdown of the type of penalties accompanying DUIs in the state.

First conviction

The maximum jail term for a first DUI conviction cannot exceed six months. However, extenuating circumstances increase the maximum term up to nine months. This includes driving with a minor in the vehicle at the time of arrest or having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .15% or higher. As for fines, the minimum is $500 while the maximum is $1,000. If extenuating circumstances are at play, these figures increase to $1,000 and $2,000, respectively.

Second conviction

The same standards apply to fines for the second conviction. Under normal circumstances, the minimum fine is $1,000, while the maximum is $2,000. Depending on your BAC and whether there was a child with you, these fines can increase to a minimum of $2,000 or a maximum of $4,000. As for jail time, sentences cannot exceed nine months, unless elevated penalties apply. In that case, 12 months is the maximum jail term. When the second offense was within five years of the previous one, there is also a ten-day mandatory jail term.

Third conviction

A mandatory 30-day sentence also applies to a third conviction occurring within ten years of a previous conviction. Otherwise, the maximum term is 12 months. Fines for third convictions entail a minimum of $2,000 and a maximum of $5,000. Based on the circumstances, fines can elevate to a minimum of $4,000.

Additional penalties result from fourth and subsequent convictions. For example, habitual offenders may receive up to five years in prison.

Categories

Archives

FindLaw Network