There are multiple penalties associated with driving under the influence in Florida. In addition to dealing with potential jail time and heavy fines, you may also need to install an ignition interlock device in your car.
While not all DUI offenses involve ignition interlock devices, they are very common. According to the Florida Safety Council, ignition interlock devices prevent a vehicle from starting unless the driver blows an alcohol-free breath sample into it.
When do I need an ignition interlock device?
It is possible that the courts will require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle after your first DUI offense, but not always. In the event that your first DUI offense involves your BAC being above 0.20 or if there was a minor in the car at the time of the offense, you must have an ignition interlock device for up to six months.
For a second DUI conviction, the Florida courts mandate that you have an ignition interlock device for at least one year. For a second conviction with BAC over 0.20 or a minor in the car, you must have an ignition interlock device for 2 years. For a third conviction or a DUI manslaughter charge, the minimum is also 2 years.
Who pays for the ignition interlock device?
The convicted person is responsible for all fees associated with an ignition interlock device. The Florida courts will require you to install an ignition interlock device before they reinstate your driver’s license. Typically, it costs about $70 to install the device, and then there are monthly upkeep fees between $65 and $70.