It is hard to know when you have had too much to drink after a night out because many factors can affect your blood alcohol content level. However, your BAC level cannot exceed 0.08% when you drive a car in the state of Florida.
If convicted of DUI in Florida, you could face severe penalties, like the requirement to pay a fine ranging from $500 to $1,000 for a first offense, according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. If you get pulled over on suspicion of DUI, you should communicate carefully with the law enforcement official during the traffic stop.
Responding to the officer’s questions
During a DUI arrest, the law enforcement official will likely ask you a series of questions. For example, the officer may ask you why you think you got pulled over and request to see your driver’s license and registration.
As you communicate with the arresting officer, remember that any statement you make could affect your case later on if charged with a DUI. Answer the law enforcement official’s questions honestly, succinctly and respectfully.
Denying allegations of drinking
The law enforcement official conducting the traffic stop will look for signs of alcohol consumption during the arrest process. Do not deny consuming alcohol if you have been drinking – this could harm your case later when evaluated by prosecutors.
If you do not want to answer a question during a traffic stop, you may want to say that you do not have a response. Regardless of how you answer these questions and talk to the officer, you may still need to participate in a complete DUI investigation.