What Are The DUI Penalties In Florida?
The penalties that a driver could face for a DUI in Orlando or Seminole County, Florida, if convicted, may vary depending upon a number of different factors. These factors often include:
- The blood alcohol level of the driver
- Whether a minor was in the vehicle
- Whether the driver was involved in a crash
- And most importantly, whether the driver has any prior DUI convictions
Any or all of this information will affect the potential penalties that a driver may face.
Contact The Law Office of Corey I. Cohen & Associates today if you are interested in finding out more about your specific charges and what potential penalties you could face. Our founder is a former prosecutor. Our DUI defense knowledge base is vast and deep. When you talk with a member of our legal team, you can also learn about the potential defenses to the charges you face.
Penalties For A First DUI Offense In Orange Or Seminole County
Following are the potential penalties that a driver may face for a first DUI conviction in Orlando and Seminole County, Florida: Please note that every case is different and the penalties will vary based on the facts of your individual case.
- Up to a 12-month driver’s license suspension
- Up to six months in county jail, 12 months in jail if there was any property damage.
- Fines and court fees of up to $1,000
- Up to 12 months probation
- 50 hours of community service
- 10-day vehicle impoundment
- DUI school
- Victim awareness panel
- Crash project (only in Seminole County)
Penalties For A Second Or Subsequent Conviction
Penalties will increase dramatically for a second conviction within five years or third conviction within 10 years and a fourth conviction. A second conviction within five years of your first carries with it a mandatory 10 days in jail and a maximum of nine months in jail; there is also a five-year suspension of your driver’s license. A third conviction may actually be charged as a felony, punishable by up to five years in state prison and a 10-year driver’s license suspension.
For a fourth DUI conviction there is the possibility of five years in state prison and a lifetime driver’s license suspension with no possibility for a hardship license ever. This means you can never legally drive again in Florida.
Contact A Skilled Defense Lawyer After A Drunk Driving Arrest
For immediate help with your DUI case, call The Law Office of Corey I. Cohen & Associates at 407-246-0066, or you may email our legal team directly for a prompt response about your case. The initial consultation is free.
Se habla español .